Boost your sales with Candy Rack

Candy Rack is officially recognized as a Built for Shopify app.
The only upsell app you'll need to maximaze performance of your Shopify store. Make 2025 your best sales year with Candy Rack.
Try for free
How to add a frequently bought together widget to your product page

Tomas Janu

|

January 5, 2025

How to add a frequently bought together widget to your product page

Frequently Bought Together is a popular cross-selling tactic that involves bundling multiple products together. In this article, you will learn how to implement it in your Shopify store and increase your AOV.

How to add a frequently bought together widget to your product page

One of the proven ways to increase AOV (Average Order Value) is by offering a bundle of 2-3 products that customers buy together (or at least that's what's communicated).

So, instead of buying a single product, customers may purchase a set of multiple products, which, of course, gives you more revenue. Essentially, it's a cross-selling tactic as the customer is buying the original product, together with a couple of additional ones.

Frequently bought together widget on Amazon for Victorinox knife in 2008.
Frequently bought together widget on Amazon for Victorinox knife in 2008.

This concept was introduced by Amazon in 2007, and over the years, they have changed the title from "Better Together" to "Frequently Bought Together" and then to "Other Customers Also Bought." In 2025, it's the original "Frequently Bought Together," but it may depend on your location or testing.

Frequently bought together widget on Amazon for Victorinox knife in 2025.
Frequently bought together widget on Amazon for Victorinox knife in 2025.

Add the "Frequently Bought Together" widget on your Shopify PDPs

To add a widget similar to Amazon's on your product detail pages, you will need a third-party app. There are plenty of them on the app store.

Frequently bought together widget by Candy Rack app.
Frequently bought together widget by Candy Rack app.

In my example, I am using Candy Rack, which can do it fully automatically using AI and also gives you many other options (i.e., post-purchase upsell). On top of that, I prefer the vertical widget UI, as most customers are now using mobile devices to make purchases.

1. Create an offer for the main product

First, you will need to create an offer for the main product (i.e., the one that's on the PDP):

  • Once you install the app, click on "Create offer" and select Product page > Embedded (checkbox) as a Placement
  • Select Upsell type > Same product to always include the original product
  • (Optional, but recommended) Add a discount to motivate customers to purchase the bundle; typically, 10 - 15 % works fine
  • Check the option "Preselect upsells by default" in the Additional settings
Setting up the frequently bought together offer in Candy Rack app.
Setting up the frequently bought together offer in Candy Rack app.

2. Create an offer for the cross-sell products

Second, you will need to create an offer for the cross-sell products (i.e., products that are offered as part of the bundle).

You can do it either manually or let the AI choose the most relevant products, which I recommend as it saves a lot of time:

  • Click on "Create offer" and select Product page > Embedded (checkbox) as a Placement
  • Select Upsell type > AI mode so the offered products are recommended automatically
  • Change The number of recommended upsell products to 2 (or whatever you prefer)
  • (Optional, but recommended) Add a discount to motivate customers to purchase the bundle; typically, 10 - 15 % works fine. Make sure to use the same discount as for the main product
  • Set the upsell position to be higher than in the offer for the main product (i.e., 6 if the main product offer is 5), so the cross-sells are displayed after the main product
  • Check the option "Preselect upsells by default" in the Additional settings

3. Add the widget to your PDPs

The last step is to implement the widget to your product details pages:

  • Go to Sales channels > Online store > Customize
  • Go to your product page template by selecting Products > Default product (or whatever the name of the template you are using) in the top menu
  • Add the Product page (Checkbox) app block into the Product page section. I recommend placing it right below your ATC button
  • Click on the block and, customize the wording, and set Button location > App button to display the extra ATC button for the bundle
  • Save the edits and go to your store to test the widget live
Adding the frequently bought together widget in theme editor.
Adding the frequently bought together widget in theme editor.

Conclusion: An elegant way to increase your AOV

Adding the "Frequently Bought Together" widget to your Shopify product pages is a non-intrusive and proven way how to increase your average order value.

You can also further optimize it by testing different discount levels or selecting the cross-sell products manually, at least for your best sellers.

To add a similar widget to your cart page, you can also check our free app called Cartel.

Frequently asked and common questions

Is there any free Shopify app supporting the "frequently bought together" feature?

There are some you can find on the app store however, I haven't tested any of the free ones.

What's the best "frequently bought together" app for Shopify?

See our list of the best "frequently bought together" apps for Shopify to get the latest recommendations.

What results shall I expect after implementing the "frequently bought together" widget?

This depends on two things:

  • What is the average bundle take rate (i.e., what percentage of customers take the bundle over the main product only). Based on my experience, you can aim for 10 - 20% take rate, or up to 30% if the bundle includes some really nice discount.
  • What is the average bundle AOV, and how does it compare to your store AOV.

Now let's say your store AOV is $50, the bundle AOV is $100, and the bundle take rate is 20%. Then you will achieve a 20% growth on your total store revenue.

How many products shall I offer in the "frequently bought together" bundle?

The general practice is offering three products, including the original product.

In my experience, you can also reduce one to two and one to four. Anything above will be less relevant and too expensive.

What should the total bundle price be compared to the main product? Shall I offer any discounts?

The total bundle price shouldn't be more than three times the original product's price. You should always include complementary items, or items from the same category.

The minimum bundle price should be one time and half the original product's price. If it's less, you are likely missing the opportunity to increase your AOV.

Offering bundle discounts will certainly increase your bundle take rate. But do the math carefully to see if the increase in take rate is offsetting the discount level.

Tomas Janu

Tom loves writing about upselling, conversion optimization, and e-commerce trends. He is one of our co-founders, and you can sometimes talk to him if you contact our support team. Make sure to follow him on LinkedIn for more Shopify-related tips and news.
Try for freeCandy Rack preview

Latest articles

All articles

Boost your Shopify business with our apps

All our apps are designed to help you grow your Shopify business. Check them out and take advantage of the free trial period.

Boost my Shopify